In our previous blog post, we discussed the standardized tests that police officers use to determine if someone is intoxicated while driving. That battery of tests is only one small part of the events that lead up to a drunk driving charge. Throughout the process, it is important that you know your rights and how to protect them.
In our post law week, we discussed some of the ways that elevated blood-alcohol concentration levels can affect people. Those effects are one of the reasons why all states have laws against drunk driving. All states, including New York, have harsh penalties for drunk driving. Anyone who has been accused of drunk driving should make sure they have good representation.
Drunk driving in New York means having your driver's license suspended. That is just one of the side effects that occurs upon being charged. People who are convicted of drunk driving also face driver's license revocation. Not having your driver's license can affect various aspects of your life. It can affect your personal life since you won't be able to drive to get groceries or run errands. It can affect your work life because you won't be able to drive to and from work. It can affect your work life even more if your job requires you to have a license.
For people who are pulled over and accused of drunk driving, a lot of terms might come up as they go through the criminal justice system. Many of these terms have to do with the exact charge the person is facing. The actual charge has a big impact on the consequences you face in New York. Drivers under 21 years old who are under the influence of alcohol or drugs face different penalties from drivers who are 21 or older.
People make mistakes that sometimes necessitate a punishment through the criminal justice system. Drunk driving is one of those mistakes, but the punishment for that mistake might be getting a little bit more harsh thanks to Vince's Law.
Almost everyone is aware that driving while under the influence of alcohol is against the law. The penalties for a person convicted of driving while intoxicated are tough in the state of New York, but in Erie county, only around 17 percent of people arrested for misdemeanor DWI are actually convicted.
The state of New York is notoriously tough on drunk driving. A few years ago, lawmakers instated Leandra's Law, which made it a felony to drive while intoxicated if there was someone 15 years old or younger in the car. The law also makes it mandatory for anyone convicted of this crime to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicles. Some people, however, have found ways around this rule.
In New York, it is common knowledge that the legal blood-alcohol content limit is 0.08 percent. If you are pulled over and a breath test shows that your BAC is above that number, you could be facing drunk driving charges. Did you know, however, that there are different rules for certain drivers?
Suffolk County Police are trained to spot even the smallest signs that a driver may be intoxicated behind the wheel. Whether they notice a slight misstep like an incomplete stop at a stop sign or more obvious signs like swerving across road lines, police will not hesitate to pull a driver over. When they do, a driver could end up facing serious charges. This is exactly what happened to one man from Medford last week.